Not a Hero’s workout, but…

When I showed up at the gym today, Herb had read my previous post about doing a Hero’s workout. We went through some options, but nothing really seemed to “fit”. Then he said “you could do Barbara”.

I have never done this workout. After he told me what it consisted of, I said okay, I’ll do Barbara.

The more I mulled it over as I was warming up I kept thinking to myself “man I’m not sure if I’m ready for this today”. Therein lies the power of Crossfit. I had nearly talked myself out of doing this workout, and Herb even said that I could do something else. But being my stubborn self I said “no”, this is exactly what I need today. A workout that I’m dreading at the moment but will hopefully push me to my limits to complete it.

And so I began.

I completed Barbara. I complained a little bit after I was done and reflected on how I could have improved my time. (This is a common thing for Crossfitters.) On the way home I thought about what I had just completed. Unknowingly at the time, I felt good. I had just completed a tough workout, something I had considered not even beginning only an hour ago. As I reflected I thought to myself, “wow”, I feel great.

And this is what CrossFit has done to me. Generally speaking, the grass IS greener on the other side.

Barbara is:

5 Rounds, for time, of:

20 Pull-ups
30 Push-ups
40 Sit-ups
50 Squats

My splits for each round were 5:03, 7:13, 7:48, 7:51, & 7:52 for a total time of 35:47.

While I tried to “pace” myself on the first round, it is nearly impossible. As muscle fatigue begins to set in, it is very hard for me to better my time in a later round of any given workout. However, I was very happy with my consistent times of round 2 thru 5. As always, the Push-ups are what I really need to work on.

The diet was solid today. Right now I’m trying to plan my final meal of the day.

And finally a picture of the TitanFit logo, carved in STEEL!

Leave a comment